Gabriela Verdicchio: Student at the University of Victoria

University of Victoria-logoGabriela Verdicchio, a third year student at the University of Victoria in British Columbia is completing a double major in Political Science and Italian Studies. Gabriela shares with us her thoughts on how higher education institutions can create a better experience for students and why she is so proud to be a part of the UVic community. Hear why Gabriela feels morally inclined to become a Professor in this week’s “Hear from our Students” series:

What makes you proud of being a part of your institution?

I’m proud to be a part of the UVic community due to the fundamental pillars that encompass the spirit and integrity of the university. Focusing on ideologies surrounding the environment, international relations, co-op learning, and leadership, UVic is truly a formidable university with many opportunities for the student body.

What do you think institutions can improve on to create a better student experience?

In regard to economic reform, making sure that universities and other institutions allocate funds appropriately, and consider student opinion when making decisions that ultimately affect their learning. Furthermore, universities should further encourage and support campus clubs and course unions as well as athletic rec. teams; maintaining a proper balance between athletics, volunteer, and learning is extremely beneficial to the health and wellness of students, which therefore would promote a better student experience.

Who has been the most helpful person that you have encountered in your institution?

The most helpful person I’ve encountered at UVic has been the political science undergraduate academic adviser, Dr. Janni Aragon. Dr. Aragon has encouraged me to pursue a variety of employment opportunities in terms of co-op placements, and has also aided me in organizing my class schedule. Because of her support, I am graduating in four years with a double major undergraduate degree and preparing myself for law school applications.

If you could change your institution in just one way, what would that be?

If I had the ability to change one thing about UVic it would be the grading scale! UVic operates on a nine point scale, whereas most other universities operate on a four point scale.

What is your dream job after completing your education?

My dream job after all my education is complete is to be a family lawyer, focusing heavily on aspects of collaborative law and child protection.

What are some challenges that you think can stand in the way of you landing your dream job?

The one challenge I can foresee is due to the financial burden of post-secondary and professional education. Although I have the support of scholarships, I still will not be able to cover the entire cost of law school without applying for student loans. Because of this financial burden, if my dream job does not present itself right after graduation, I will be forced to take on another job, which might not be what I’m looking for.

Is making a social impact important to you?

Yes, making a social impact is extremely important to me! I am involved in several different clubs and organizations affiliated with UVic and the Victoria community that operate to help others and focus on the betterment of society. It is important to give back to the community and enrich people’s lives through volunteer and humanitarian work. Society cannot move forward as a whole unless everyone is well equipped, and supports one another.

Would you want to work in the education sector? 

I think that I would one day want to work in the law school education sector as a professor, but only after I’ve completed my goals, and have made the positive impacts on society and the legal system that were important to me. With this experience, I would feel morally inclined to teach others, in the hope that they take what they’ve learnt and use it to achieve greatness.

…and…finally:

What is your favourite apple-inspired food?

Apple sauce!

Thank you, Gabriela! We agree, social impact is so very important and it is great to see students involved in clubs and organizations that focus on the betterment of society! We wish you only the best…

Share Your Perspective