Sue Prior: Manager, Alumni Development at U of T Mississauga

UTMSue Prior, Manager of Alumni Development at the University of Toronto Mississauga, tells us why she didn’t choose the education sector, and how it chose her. Hear from Sue and her experience working at The University of Toronto and connecting with students and alumni.

Why have you chosen to work in the education sector?

I didn’t choose it; it chose me.  After being a very active student leader in University I was asked to help launch the Academic Skills Centre with the newly appointed director.  I knew instantly that I loved working at the University not just because of the students, but also because I was close to cutting edge research and amazing instructors.  After two years in the ASC I knew it was time for a change and my instinct told me that I wanted to work in the Advancement Office.  I applied and got the job that was posted and moved from an administrative position to my current position.

What’s the most rewarding aspect of your job?

I am constantly amazed at the successful alumni this university produces.  They are diverse and in every field of study.  When I come across an alumnus who is doing something that helps humanity, or an alumnus that has made an extraordinary discovery, or an alumna who has chosen to home school her children and her degree helped get her there – this is what excites me.  Because when our alumni are successful it increases the value of my degree as well. I can proudly say – “she went to my school”!  I am rewarded every time I see a student I have worked with cross the threshold at Convocation Hall and get the degree for which they worked so hard.  When their smile meets mine – nothing is more rewarding!

What is the greatest challenge that you encounter within your role?

Engaging our alumni with our students in more experiential learning activities is one of our greatest challenges.  While I realize that alumni are busy with their own families, I think this type of engagement is so fulfilling for the alumnus and can help a student immensely in their chosen field.  We have many alumni who have so much to offer our students – teaching them things that cannot be learned in the classroom.  Alumni have such a wide breadth of knowledge that should be “exploited” by our students and those with whom I have engaged in this way have always enjoyed being “exploited”!

What do you think attracts people across industries to work in education?

The students – plain and simple.  I can only imagine when an educator sees a student finally understand a formula, a theory, a novel – what unbelievable sense of accomplishment that must be for them.

What misconceptions do you think people have when considering a career in this sector?

I can only say from my friends who are teachers that the misconception because teachers don’t teach in the summer they work for 10 months of the year, but while many of them do have the summer off, most of them work until the small hours of the morning marking and doing lesson plans during the academic year.  Or, they spend an inordinate amount of time with students who are struggling.  As for the University professor – summer is usually the time to do their research.

In my particular area people think I have the summer off!  However, alumni development takes place throughout the year.  The summer months are planning months for me and my team.  This is when we plan all our events for the year because during the regular academic year we are too busy executing our events.

If you could change our sector in just one way, what would that look like?

For alumni development I would encourage students in first year that they are lifelong members of the University family.  I would also encourage the faculty to look to their alumni for experiential learning for their students.  Our alumni have to so much to offer our students – a wealth of knowledge that cannot always be learned inside the class room.

Reflecting on your role and the impact it has, is there anything that you find you appreciate more now than before?

I think I appreciate the challenges students have more now than ever.  These are difficult economic times and students need to be resourceful and they also need to be realistic.  As someone who speaks with alumni every day and some very new alumni who are struggling it behoves us as world class university to reach out to them and have programming in place to help

What’s one thing you would want to tell to those applying for a job in the education sector?

It’s the same thing I would say to anyone applying for any job – Make it your passion.  When you do something you love it won’t be just a job.  As one of my favourite mentors continues to tell me, “Sue follow your bliss” and I do.

…and…finally:

What is your favourite apple-inspired food?

That’s easy – warm apple crisp with a really good vanilla ice cream on top!

Thank you for sharing your perspective, Sue! We agree, creating an enriching student learning experience is our bottom line too!

Share Your Perspective