Jessica Pacheco: Early Childhood Educator Supply at Waterloo Region District School Board

Waterloo Region District School BoardThis week, we spoke to Jessica Pacheco who is an Early Childhood Educator at the Waterloo Region District School Board. Jessica shared with us the importance of communicating with other teachers, the need for supplies, and how integrating technology has helped her in the classroom. She also provides advice for those looking to apply in our sector, and talks about the rewards and challenges of being an Early Childhood Education. Let’s hear from Jessica…

Why have you chosen to work in the education sector?

There are many reasons why I chose to become an educator, since I was a child I knew I wanted to help others through education. The main reason I chose to work in the education sector was to have the opportunity to enter a fulfilling career.

What’s the most rewarding aspect of your job?

The most rewarding aspect of being a teacher and an early childhood educator is being able to see a student reach their goal, and to see their face light up when they grasp a concept.

What is the greatest challenge that you encounter within your role?

I believe that the greatest challenge that I have encountered is accommodating and modifying lessons for the ever-changing needs of all students. As a new teacher it is imperative to work and communicate with other teachers and discuss ways in which they have accommodated and modified their plans in order to assist students individual needs. In my experience I have found that using technology in the classroom is very beneficial to all learners.

­­What do you think attracts people across industries to work in education?

This is a question that was asked in my very first class of teachers college, as we took turns in the classroom discussing why we choose the education field a majority of the answers were aimed in the direction of; devotion in working with children and making a difference in the lives of others.

What misconceptions (if any) do you think people have when considering a career in this sector?

I think that a major misconception that people may have is that teaching is an easy job. Teaching is more then a full time job, many teachers work above and beyond the 40 hour work week. However, I also believe that teaching is one of the most rewarding jobs as well!

If you could change our sector in just one way, what would that look like?

One thing that I would change in the education sector would be to provide each school with all the supplies they need. I know that there are many schools and teachers who struggle to acquire the supplies they need in order to carry out their teaching.

Reflecting on your role and the impact it has, is there anything that you find you appreciate more now than before?

I definitely appreciate my elementary and high school teachers who went the extra distance to make sure that we were given the opportunity to have the best education. Also, I appreciate those teachers who went above and beyond by donating their time to extra curricular activities, without those teachers the sports teams and clubs in the school would not exist! Thank you to all my past teachers in the Halton Catholic District School Board!

What’s one thing you would want to tell to those applying for a job in the education sector?

One thing I would advise is that if you are waiting for a position within the school boards is to be VERY patient! Also volunteer your free time in a school, it will do wonders when you are applying and interviewing for various positions!

…and…finally:

What is your favourite apple-inspired food?

I have a really big sweet tooth, so I would have to say an apple blossom with some vanilla ice cream!

Thank you for the advice, Jessica! We wish you the best as you continue to impact the lives of our students!

Share Your Perspective