Clarissa Chambers: Student at Carleton University

Carlton University-logoThis week we heard from Clarissa Chambers who is completing a double major in Communications and Human Rights at Carleton University. Although Clarissa does not want to work in the education sector, she tells us about her aspirations to work in law and/or with children. Her perspective as a student in higher education is insightful and her pride in her institution is apparent.

What makes you proud of being a part of your school/institution?

It’s not hard being proud of being a RAVEN! (our school’s mascot) at Carleton University. There is so much school sprit which enhances the learning environment here for myself and other students. I’m extremely proud to be a part of Carleton University because of the school’s excellent reputation nationally and abroad.

What do you think schools/institutions can improve on to create a better student experience?

I believe that if schools/institutions focused on improving infrastructure it would significantly better students experiences during their time of study. For instance simple renovations to buildings enhance student moral and in my opinion help students to stay motivated and focused on their studies. I personally find it frustrating and distracting, learning and studying in the older buildings on campus that lack windows and a decent wi-fi connection to the Internet. Compared to the new state of the art buildings with large windows, beautiful views, and multiple plug outlets.

Who has been the most helpful person that you have encountered in your school/institution?

The most helpful person at my school/institution that I have encountered has been my Alpha Pi Phi sorority ‘Big Sister’ Rebecca Reeds. I refer to Rebecca as my Big Sister since she was assigned to me as a mentor during my first year at Carleton University. Rebecca has been the most helpful person I encountered at Carleton University since she was able to provide me with advice and recourses. Rebecca is three years my Sr. during my first year of studies at Carleton, she was able to provide me with a wealth of knowledge on the inner workings of the university such as advice on choosing classes and professors, navigating the school’s layout and services, as well as tips such as where to purchase texts books at a discounted rate.

Out of everyone I have encountered she was the most helpful to me personally as she had been in the same position as me three years prior and was able to share her knowledge on the functions of a school that she was very familiar with. As well unlike accessing specific services on campus like the Student Academic Success Centre that focuses specific to course selection. Rebecca was able to provide me a wealth of information that applied to many aspects of student life at Carleton.

If you could change your school/institution in just one way, what would that be?

I would make texts book either free or make the option to have every text book borrowed, with a fee applied if you misplaced or damaged the book. Students spend anywhere from 30-200 on just one text book for each class. In most classes we have multiple textbooks required, so the cost really adds up.

What is your dream job after completing your education?

My dream job after completing my education would be law related, or a career that allows me to work with children.

What are some challenges that you think can stand in the way of you landing your dream job?

Finances would be a huge challenge that could stand in the way of landing my dream job. Law school is very expensive. However, I think an even larger challenge more so than finances, would be the competitiveness of law school, as thousands apply with only a few hundred making the academic requirements per school or landing a job afterwards.

Is making a social impact important to you?

Yes, I believe making a social impact is very important. Even now during my time studying at Carleton I have made it a priority to make a social impact on the community. Through various philanthropic activities with my sorority I dedicated over 20 hours a semester volunteering for causes such as Relay for Life, Walk for memories, Do It For Daren, raising money for St. Jude’s hospital and work to raise awareness for causes such as Breast Cancer research. Studying Human Rights at Carleton has made me very aware of the injustices and iniquities that continue to take place in Canada and all over the world. Even though we live in a developed nation it would be important for me to choose a career that would help me to continue to make a social impact.

Would you want to work in the education sector?

As of now I would not want to work in the education sector. I find that many areas of this sector especially at the elementary and high school level lack creativity and are very slow to adapt to new methods of learning. I don’t believe there is only one way to learn information, and to gain knowledge and feel that I would feel too constricted working for a school board or a specific institution.

…and…finally:

What is your favourite apple-inspired food?

Would have to be Apple Crumble hands down! My Great-Grandmother Mary, has the most delicious recipe!!!

We look forward to hearing about your future initiatives in Human Rights and wish you luck, Clarissa!

Share Your Perspective